A HUGE HEART

So I know it’s only January but February has my very favorite holiday. I love Valentine’s day. We were married on Valentine’s day. We found out we were pregnant with our second son on Valentine’s day. We all make special homemade cards for each other, including the kids. I decorate a tree for the holiday because we all know it’s not a holiday unless there is  a tree involved. LOL! I love red, and pink, I love hearts. It’s just my thing. Seriously wait till you see the huge herringbone heart I made  just getting a start for this February.

So it took me  a while to get the hang of the layout as I had no cutout or stencil for this. It was the first one I have ever made. My hubby helped of course. He was the reason it actually was finished being he did all the major cutting for me. Let me tell you I LOVE IT!

So it all started with a freehand drawing and a cutout on some 1/4 inch plywood. The hubby cut it out for me. You can see that I had a pattern of boards going on behind it to make sure it fit. I think used some wood glue between the boards and plywood then stapled that sucker down with all that I had. Hubby cut around the back piece which was like a guide.

All cut out and ready for some homemade whitewash.

All cut out and ready for some homemade whitewash.  Then I hung it on a very empty wall in the living room.

Here’s a size reference. It’s a HUGE heart.

I added a string of poms poms to add a splash of color for Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

