The Hutch came off with out a Hitch

So we were given a hutch by some friends that had stored it in their garage with every intention of repurposing it. A year and a half later they just wanted it out. So we got it home to our garage and there it sat for about 2 months until I worked up the motivation for this project and I desperately wanted it done before Christmas.

So this hutch had a broken glass which I wasn’t going to replace. Doors that were dated older than me and handles that were screaming for some shag carpet. The wood is hard to see in the photo but it has the black speckled paint in it to make it look aged, and it did,  it made it look like it was from 1982.

So we removed the pane of glass, removed the doors and I had so much stress relief removing the back piece. Unfortunately I took no photos other than a before an after because I get so caught up each and every time I forget. I really need to make a sign in the garage that reminds me to take picture.

If I ever decide to repaint this piece I would sand this down almost all the way.

I did something I normally wouldn’t do.

A) I used a different brand of chalk paint which was my first mistake. It didn’t go on as smooth as I would have liked.

B) I got tired of dealing with the crap chalk paint and tried rolling it. NEVER ROLL CHALK PAINT!

Needless to say though it is done and looks good for now. I like it. Paint can change an item so much it’s amazing. I would never guess it was the same piece.

Have FUN DIY’ers  Show me what you got going on.

IMG_3828.JPGIMG_5814.JPG

 

Published by

Amossi

I'm a diy'er if that is an actually word. I love crafts, woodworking and making everything I can. I have 4 kids, 2 dogs, 1 lizard and a home that requires a lot of work. We're getting there though. My husband spends a lot of time building with me in our garage. Maybe one day I can call this a business, that would be a dream.

Leave a Reply

