Garbage & Recyling

Okay I promise this is my last post of the year. I believe I am caught up with all the projects done during the holiday season.

Let me say good grief and what a huge pain in the arse that garbage and recycling was in our kitchen. We had a stainless steel can with a step lever for the lid. It’s no where near big enough for a day and as for the recycling, well it accumulates in a paper bag, on the counter, in a row on the floor next to the said bag and anywhere else the kids will put it till I am screaming and asking for the 56th time for them to take out recycling.  One day is all it takes to build up in a family of 6.

Needless to say I found a cute bin on Pinterest. Yes time time void website. LOVE IT! Somedays more that others. Any who I found this bin and have been wanting my hubby to help make it for about 3 years. So finally he designed it on his computer and started lying it out.

One trip to Ace, and 2 trips to town, Home Depot and Lowes and finally we have everything. We needed a new tool as well so out total topped out about $175.  It was not a cheap project but well worth the money spent. There were no directions on how to build this specific one that I could find so we winged it. I’m sure there may have been easier ways to do things but it is done and looks super fab in the nook in the kitchen and it gets rid of all the over flow of  recycling. In all it took a full weekend to build and paint.

So here it is, start to finish. IMG_5284.JPG

IMG_5282.JPG

IMG_5280.JPG

IMG_5299.JPG

IMG_5300.JPG

IMG_5302.JPG

See? It’s so much better than the before picture which I did remember to take for once but am not posting  because run away recycling everywhere is embarrassing.  Let me know what you think fellow DIY’ers. Have you built one? What did you do different? Wanna try it?

 

Leave a Reply

