SO it happened

I went to my little craft fair that was at an elementary school. My booth cost a whooping $10. Needless to say I was completely prepared. Signs ready, photos ready, car packed and leaving when it happened. (I was sharing a booth with a friend. Emphasis on “was”) Anywho, she let me know 45 minutes before we were to be there that she wasn’t going to make it. She had taught art classes that day and by the time she was done she had a migraine and she was done with school. LOL! I can’t blame her.

At that point I was a bit nervous. My daughter volunteered to come with me to help me and thank goodness she did, I wouldn’t of made it through the 2 hour show without her.

So this wasn’t just a little craft fair, it was also a school function for Halloween. So we were giving out candy, there was pizza, snow cones and all sorts of yummy sticky sweets. Kids and adults were everywhere all dressed up for the fun. Meandering around going booth to booth looking at everyones goods and collecting candy.

As i was watching kids run around (literally run around my booth and others), I started pushing everything back on my table. My daughter and I were catching items as children and adults tried to squeeze between tables instead of going around. Children covered in yummy sweets touching and picking up every single thing. Parents yelling don’t touch as the child puts it down to only pick up another. For 2 solid hours. (Now I love children, I do, I have 4 of my own. I know they they get sticky and smelly, and slimy. However most of these children had no MANNERS. A lot of them were old enough to know better). There were a few very sweet children that used manners and talked to the adults running the booth that made up for it though.

However it happened. One young teen ran between the booths and dragged her hand along my items, and whoosh, just like that one of my arrows went flying. Needless to say it didn’t stay airborne long not being an made as a proper arrow should. It did land tip down like an arrow should though. The sound echoed through the cafe, the arrow broke into 4 different pieces. The child continued running and the lady in the booth next to me seemed to need to confirm to me it was broken. LMBO!

As I was saying earlier, the booth cost me $ 10, and one broken arrow and that was all that I got. NOT ONE SALE. Not that I expected any really. I am grateful my daughter went with my not only to juggle my items but to keep here mom company, we laughed and despite the broken item we had a really good time together.  On a side note, no one there sold anything. I did get a lot moms onto my Facebook and IG page so hopefully I get some business from that. It was the experience though.

So DIY’ers, don’t be afraid to fail. It will happen. Just roll with it and then move on. Thats what I intend to do. Here is our set up photo with my lovely sidekick.

Published by

Amossi

I'm a diy'er if that is an actually word. I love crafts, woodworking and making everything I can. I have 4 kids, 2 dogs, 1 lizard and a home that requires a lot of work. We're getting there though. My husband spends a lot of time building with me in our garage. Maybe one day I can call this a business, that would be a dream.

Leave a Reply

